Highest Paying IT Certifications

Information Technology (IT) industry is continually progressing, and the best way to remain relevant is by constantly upgrading your skills.

IT certifications can give you a competitive edge at work and during a job hunt.

Many people considering a career in IT usually need clarification after seeing the wide variety of job opportunities. They typically need to figure out which one to pursue.

This article will highlight some of the highest paying IT certifications that can boost your career and increase pay.

It is also necessary to note that, most of the time, more than a single IT certification is needed to compete in the industry effectively. Over 90 percent of IT professionals have at least one certification.

Highest paying IT certifications

There are many openings in IT departments and organizations for people with the required skills. Many decision-makers in the industry are complaining about the shortage of skills gaps on their team.

Below are some of the Best IT Certifications:

Google Certified Professional Cloud Architect

The Google Certified Professional Cloud Architect confirms your understanding of cloud architecture. It focuses mainly on Google Cloud, including its design, dynamics and how organizations can leverage it.

It is recommended for professionals with at least three years of experience, which includes a year of using Google Cloud.

The exam tests candidates based on applying their knowledge to fictitious business problems.

The annual salary for an entry-level position with this certification starts at $134,200, while experienced professionals earn as much as $180,300.

Project Management Professional (PMP)

The Project Management Professional (PMP) Certification is offered and regulated by the Project Management Institute.

To apply, candidates must have at least a four-year degree with three years of experience managing a project within the past eight years and a CAPM certification.

If you possess a secondary degree, such as a high school diploma, you will need five years of experience leading and directing projects and a CAPM certification.

Globally, workers gained about 16 percent salary increase after this certification. American employees gained 32 percent.

The annual salary of people with PMP certification is between $69,069 and $253,748.

Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

The Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) certification is offered by the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA).

Candidates are tested on their understanding of how information security programs relate to broader business objectives.

You will need at least five years of experience in information security management to be eligible.

The annual average salary of CISM is about $131,000.

Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

Ethical Hackers are certified by the EC-Council. The Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) guarantees the holder understands how to ward off hackers.

The underlying principle is that to protect cyber property from hackers, you must be able to think like a hacker.

Included in the training are over 500 unique attack techniques and knowledge of sophisticated hacking tools.

To apply, candidates must have a minimum of two years of IT Security experience.

The average annual salary of CEH is $182,214.

AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner

The Amazon Web Service (AWS) examines practitioners interested in getting certified in the understanding of Cloud services, terminology and the usage of the AWS Cloud.

It is available for candidates with no prior technical experience and individuals interested in knowledge of cloud computing.

The average annual salary for an Entry Level AWS Cloud Practitioner in the United States is $85,569, and top earners get as much as $153,500.

Nutanix Certified Associate

The Nutanix Certified Associate is proof that an individual has the required experience to deploy, optimize and manage the Nutanix Enterprise Cloud Platform.

Individuals with this certification are expected to be able to deploy Nutanix AOS nodes and clusters.

They can also comfortably administer AHV hosts and virtual machines.

The average annual salary for Nutanix Certified Associate is $142,810.

CompTIA (A+, Network+, Security+)

The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) offers these three certifications ― A+, Network+ and Security+.

The CompTIA A+ certification is recommended for individuals interested in careers like technical support specialist and data support technician.

The average salary for CompTIA A+ is about $65,000.

On the other hand, the CompTIA Network+ is designed for network professionals and specifically covers the required skills to handle infrastructures in any networking environment.

CompTIA Security+ is recommended for cybersecurity professionals. It certifies that the holder has the necessary baseline security skills and can tackle complex attack issues.

Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP)

Professionals with CCNA can consider the Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP).

It confirms your ability to handle most companies’ networks, irrespective of their size.

Cisco offers seven professional certificates under the CCNP program. They include:

  • CNP Cloud
  • CCNP Security
  • CCNP Collaboration
  • CCNP Service Provider
  • CCNP Data Center
  • CCNP Wireless
  • CCNP Routing and Switching


The average annual salary for CCNP is $106,177. Some IT professionals in this field earn as much as $178,000.