Everything we know about Wrath of the Lich King Classic

Since the debut of World of Warcraft in 2004, the franchise has enjoyed immense popularity. With the release of its third expansion pack – Wrath of the Lich King – in 2008, players were taken on an all-new adventure in the frigid land of Northrend. Now, with WoW: Classic set to launch in August 2019, nostalgia-seekers can experience that same excitement all over again. Here’s everything we know about this anticipated revival so far.

Wrath of the Lich King pre-patch

Blizzard Entertainment announced the Wrath of the Lich King pre-patch will release on October 14th, 2019. The announcement came with a blog post detailing what players can expect from the pre-patch.

The pre-patch will introduce a host of changes and new content, including the Death Knight hero class, the flying mounts in Northrend, and the Inscription profession. In addition, the pre-patch will lay the groundwork for the upcoming Wrath of the Lich King expansion.

With less than a month to go until the pre-patch’s release, Blizzard is encouraging players to log in and experience everything that Wrath of the Lich King Classic has to offer.

How much will it cost?

The Wrath of the Lich King Classic subscription cost is $14.99 per month. In order to access the content, WoW players will need to purchase the game and all of its expansions up to and including Wrath of the Lich King. In addition, an active World of Warcraft subscription is required.

Once subscribed, players will have access to all of the original Wrath of the Lich King content, as well as new content that has been added specifically for Classic subscribers. This includes two new playable races, the pandaren and the worgen, as well as a new max-level dungeon, Icecrown Citadel.

Players who are interested in experiencing WoW Classic can do so for a monthly subscription fee of $14.99. Also, they can take wotlk classic boost service for a comfortable and effective WotLK Classic gaming.

What to expect from WOTLK Classic?

Wrath of the Lich King is the second expansion for World of Warcraft, and it introduced a host of new features that players are still enjoying today. One of the most anticipated features was the addition of Heroic difficulty settings for dungeons and raids. This meant that players could test their skills against tougher challenges and earn better rewards. The expansion also added a new continent, Northrend, which was packed with new quests and enemies to defeat.

Players could also choose to become Death Knights, a new class that brought a whole new playstyle to the game. With so much to explore, Wrath of the Lich King was an essential purchase for any World of Warcraft fan. And with Wrath of the Lich King Classic, players can now experience this expansion in all its glory, with updated graphics and gameplay. So if you’re looking for a challenging new adventure, be sure to check out Wrath of the Lich King Classic.

So, what will be different this time?

Blizzard says Wrath of the Lich King Classic will have new quality-of-life features. You don’t need a level 55 character to roll your first Death Knight. You can skip a lot of leveling and get to Northrend faster than in Classic. This only applies to the first Death Knight you make; subsequent ones require one per realm and a level 55+ character on the same realm.

Level 70 boosts will be available so you can step into Azeroth and begin your journey to Northrend from launch. Burning Crusade Classic offered level boosts.

The dungeon finder tool, added in WotLK, has been removed. Modern WoW has lost its sense of community, which is largely blamed on automated group finders that require less communication to access group content.

“Fresh Start” Servers

World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King is getting a Classic version, and with it comes the introduction of “Fresh Start” servers. These servers are designed for players who want to start from scratch, with no prior experience in the game. The servers will have a level 1 character limit and will be focused on PvE content.

In addition, Fresh Start servers will have increased rates of experience and loot, as well as doubletap ability for all characters. The servers are set to launch on May 4th, 2021. Whether you’re a seasoned veteran or a total newbie, Wrath of the Lich King Classic’s Fresh Start servers are sure to offer an engaging and immersive experience.

WOTLK Classic phases

Since the release of World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King in 2008, millions of players have logged in to explore the game’s expansive world and take on the role of heroes (or villains) in its iconic conflict between the Alliance and the Horde.

Now, after more than a decade, Blizzard Entertainment is releasing a “Classic” version of Wrath of the Lich King. This new version promises to be a faithful recreation of the original game, with all of the same content and mechanics intact. However, it will also be released in four distinct phases, each designed to give players a different experience.

The first phase, “Release,” will be focused on giving players a chance to relive the original game’s narrative arc. The second phase, “Exploration,” will open up new areas of the world for players to explore. The third phase, “Combat,” will focus on adding new challenges and opportunities for player-versus-player combat.

Finally, the fourth and final phase, “Legacy,” will bring back some of the classic game’s most iconic features and mechanics. No matter what kind of experience players are looking for, they’ll be able to find it in Wrath of the Lich King Classic.


As we come to the end of our retrospective on World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King Classic, it’s hard not to feel a sense of nostalgia. We’ve explored all the different aspects that made this expansion so iconic and memorable – from the epic storyline and boss fights, to the revamped world zones and player-versus-player content. What was your favorite part? Let us know in the comments below! And don’t forget, you can always relive those memories by logging into World of Warcraft: Classic when it goes live on August 27th.